MET's helpers

MET is a peer-training association run entirely by volunteers who have generously offered their time and expertise over the years and contributed to MET's success. We cannot possibly list everyone who has helped since MET held its first conference back in 2005, but we would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge everyone who has jumped on board for 2017. Do you belong to this list? Drop us a line and we'll add your name. To view our helpers from 2016, click here.

A very special thank-you to…

  • Ailish Maher for coordinating the choir activities for METM17 and looking after the Subject- or Genre-Specific Knowledge thread for METM17
  • Aisha Prigann for coordinating the MET-APTIC events in Barcelona
  • Allison Wright for being part of the METM17 writing team
  • Barbara Arrighetti for looking after local matters for METM17
  • Daniela Majerna for organizing the translation slam at METM17
  • Elina and Livia Nocera for coordinating the printing of workshop materials for METM17
  • Francesca Matteoda for agreeing to hold a 7 am off-METM yoga session in Brescia
  • Heather Hamilton for agreeing to help at the desk for METM17
  • Karin Rockstad for recruiting and coordinating session chairs and workshop monitors for METM17
  • Kate Major for looking after the METM17 Facebook event page
  • Maria Luisa Barbano for being our photographer at METM17
  • Mary Ellen Kerans for acting as our liaison with the Anna Lindh Foundation and looking after the Writing Process content thread for METM17
  • Melanie Rockenhaus for agreeing to make sure that all our speakers at METM17 will have name cards
  • Michael Farrell for jointly coordinating the organization of METM17 and overseeing sponsorship
  • Oliver Lawrence for being part of the METM17 writing team and agreeing to be one of the translators at the METM17 translation slam
  • Laura Bennett for being Oliver’s competitor at the translation slam
  • Rebecca Warden for looking after the Business Development and Networking content thread for METM17
  • Sabrina Voss for preparing the printed programme for METM17 and looking after the Editing, Translating and Interpreting content thread for METM17
  • Sally Burgess for looking after the Language and Applied Linguistics content thread for METM17
  • Simon Berrill for being part of the METM17 writing team
  • Stephen Waller for providing ongoing support for MET's website, creating the METM17 app and looking after the Tools, Productivity and Health content thread for METM17
  • Susan Frekko for organizing the Off-METM events for METM17
  • Susannah Goss for agreeing to prepare and distribute METM certificates for the second year running
  • Valerie Matarese for offering to organize the MET display area at METM17
  • Those who peer-reviewed abstracts for the conference and those who volunteered to host an Off-METM17 table or lead an Off-METM group.


Thank you to our four most recent outgoing council members, Mhairi Bain, Oliver Shaw, Stephen Waller and Timothy Barton, and to all former council members, Ailish Maher, Carolyn Newey, Catherine Mark, Frances Luttikhuizen, Greg Morley, Helen Casas, Jane Lewis, Karen Shashok and Mary Ellen Kerans, for all their hard work on council and beyond. 

I forgot my password